Who are Erling Haaland’s rivals for the PFA player of the year award?

rling Haaland is the overwhelming favourite to win the PFA player of the year award. The 22-year-old has had an immediate impact, scoring 28 goals in the Premier League this season – more than seven of the 20 teams in the division. If he fires Manchester City to the title, he will be hard to overlook.

The Norway international has been consistent when presented with chances, with his shot conversion rate of 31.1% the best in the league. New signings – especially strikers afkaark can take their time to adapt to the Premier League, but Haaland has excelled in his first campaign in English football. If he wins the PFA award, he would be the first player to be recognised by his peers in his debut season since Ruud van Nistelrooy won the award in 2001-02. Although, if City fail to win the league, a few other players will be hoping to pip Haaland.

ukayo Saka
Bukayo Saka is the only player to have reached double figures for both goals (12) and assists (10) in the league this season as he has gone from Starboy to Starman for Arsenal in their pursuit of a first title in 19 years. Saka impressed last season, scoring 11 goals for Arsenal, but he has taken his game to the next level.

The 21-year-old ranks sixth for key passes (61) and first for successful dribbles (46) in the league. Every Arsenal player is playing a part in their title pursuit but, if Mikel Arteta’s side go the distance, it would be hard to ignore the England international for the player of the year award.

Martin Ødegaard
The Arsenal captaincy has been something of a poisoned chalice in recent years, so when Martin Ødegaard was given the armband last summer, some fans may have feared the worst. Yet Ødegaard has been superb in midfield, scoring 10 goals to help fire Arsenal to the top of the table.

His tally of six assists is the sixth highest in the league this season, however most of his best work has been down off the ball. Ødegaard has won possession in the attacking third more times (40) than any other player this season, and he knows exactly what to do with the ball when he does win possession – as shown by his 62 key passes, the fourth highest in the league.

Kevin De Bruyne
The two-time PFA player of the year winner, Kevin De Bruyne is going for his third award in four years, having seen his hopes of a hat-trick scuppered by Mohamed Salah last year. No one has won the award three times and this is unlikely to be De Bruyne’s year given his stop-start form.

Yes, he has made more assists (12) and key passes (78) than anyone in the division, but he has not been as effective since the World Cup. Were City to win the title, his chances would increase significantly but he is still some way behind Haaland.

Marcus Rashford
Whatever Erik ten Hag said to Marcus Rashford after the World Cup clearly worked. Rashford has scored 14 league goals this season, which puts him fourth in the race for the Golden Boot. No player has scored more goals than Rashford since the World Cup (10) and his superb form has pushed Manchester United up to third in the table.
Rashford already has a medal to his name this season, having scored for United in their 2-0 win over Newcastle in the League Cup final last month, and he remains in the hunt for the FA Cup and Europa League.رسائل حب It will take a huge swing in fortunes for Rashford to win the award, but if he keeps smashing in the goals he will give himself a chance.

Harry Kane
Harry Kane is in a similar position to Rashford. He is an outsider for the award but he has broken the goalscoring records for Tottenham and England this season so never say never. Kane is Haaland’s main competitor for the Golden Boot, having scored 21 times for Spurs.

Harry Kane reels in Rooney for England goals record like a hunter with its prey
Haaland has a seven-goal lead in that battle but Kane is playing in a team plagued by uncertainty. Tottenham’s season threatens to peter out after Antonio Conte’s sacking on Sunday night, but Kane’s performances in front of goal have been consistent throughout. If, by some miracle, the 29-year-old can overhaul Haaland, he has a good chance of winning the award too.

Gabriel Martinelli
Flying a little under the radar, Gabriel Martinelli ranks fifth in the race for the Golden Boot. The young Brazilian has scored 13 league goals this season and is ending the season with a flourish.

If Arsenal do secure the title, Saka and Ødegaard would probably be above the 21-year-old in the battle for the award, but Martinelli should not be overlooked.خلفيات فخمة This has been the most prolific campaign of his short career by a distance. The Brazil international is over his injury issues and has proven vital in the club’s pursuit of the title.

William Saliba
Attackers often pick up individual awards, with defenders perhaps unfairly ignored. Yes, Saka, Ødegaard and Martinelli have all been key for Arsenal in the final third, but their title challenge has been built on a solid defensive foundation. William Saliba has slotted in seamlessly at the heart of the Arsenal backline following his impressive loan spell with Marseille last season.

Arsenal boast the third best defensive record in the league, having shipped just 26 goals in 22 games. Saliba adapted quickly to the Premier League, helping to propel his side to the top of the table and keep them there. He has won possession in the defensive third more times (112) than any other player in the league, as well as winning possession in the midfield third 91 times. He steps into midfield when needed, easing pressure on the Arsenal goal and putting them on the front foot. The award has been running since the 1973-74 season and Saliba would be just the seventh defender to win it after Norman Hunter in 1973–74, Colin Todd in 1974–75, Gary Pallister in 1991-92,صباح الخير Paul McGrath in 1992-93, John Terry in 2004-05 and Virgil van Dijk in 2018-19.

Views: 29


You need to be a member of On Feet Nation to add comments!

Join On Feet Nation

© 2024   Created by PH the vintage.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service